Reviews voor SourceMedia | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van SourceMedia

Bijgewerkt op 21 sep 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

Er zijn 150 reviews gevonden

3.0
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
50%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
79%
Waardeert directeur
SourceMedia CEO Gemma Postlethwaite (no image)
Gemma Postlethwaite
10 Beoordelingen
  1. Nuttig (6)

    "RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Revenue in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij SourceMedia voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Nice views, and great snacks. That's about it.

    Minpunten

    Incompetent new management with lofty goals, and no plans for execution. The company has been losing revenue for quite a bit now, and seems to be cutting positions make make up for the loss. Don't even think about asking smart questions that make upper management question whether or not they know what they're doing. You won't get a straight answer, not only because they don't have one, but they do not care about... your input. Have an opinion? Keep it to yourself, or expect to be let go.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Listen to your employees. Do the opposite of everything you're doing right now, Maybe then you'll find a little success.

    SourceMedia2019-09-19
  2. "No career advancement. No guidance. You will be replaced when the C-Suite makes a mistake."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij SourceMedia voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    -People you work with on a day-to-day basis. -Snacks, food. -Planned employee activities.

    Minpunten

    The new mission statement is "career advancement" but when it comes to their own employees, they'll kick them out for no reason other than to replace them with people the c-suite already knows from a previous company. C-suite will then blame employees by saying that they weren't actually doing what they wanted them to do - when there was no direction in the first place. There is no guidance. There is no career... advancement. Everyone is scared, because there are layoffs every week. CEO preaches about "diversity and inclusion" but she's filled her c-suite with all white men. C-suite doesn't listen to a single thing their employees have to say. Have a question? You'll be shot down and probably removed. Why host town hall calls and meetings if you're going to give sarcastic and rude responses? Why host CEO breakfasts if, when asked a question, you don't get a straight answer and then are fired the next week? Revenue is made by kicking out employees, because they sure aren't listening to people in leadership positions when they make suggestions for products and services. My one star is for the people I worked with on a day-to-day basis in different departments. They were all collaborative and kind, and made coming to work fun.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Practice what you preach. The board will catch on to you eventually. Good luck.

    SourceMedia2019-09-21
  3. "Doesn't get much better than this"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Vice President Sales Subscriptions in New York, NY
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij SourceMedia

    Pluspunten

    I've been here at SM going on my 5th month. I had a few other solid opportunities presented to me before joining this company. However, I decided this was a great fit for me as I was convinced of the massive opportunity. I'm happy to report, I absolutely made the right decision! The new leadership is excellent and the managers are all really focused on bringing SourceMedia to the next level. The company rewards... for great performance, has excellent benefits, has plenty of company gatherings w. a family atmosphere, has a fully stocked snack room, plenty of potential for career advancement, town halls and transparent communication, flexibility in your work schedule, great location, and more tools than most (Salesforce, Salesloft & Hoopla to name a few.) I truly believe in the next 24 months this company is poised to do big things. I'm thrilled to be part of the team, and I plan to contribute in a big way!!

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    Change is never easy, and right now, the company is trying to bring a lot more consistency to process and design. These things take time, and so I think it's normal to have some frustration. It's hard to be patient, but I do believe we are very close.

    Advies aan management

    I look around and I see people with 23, 20, 18, 15, & 12, years of tenure - just in my immediate group alone. Clearly people like it here despite some of the background noise I'm sure every company experiences with their staff. Continue to treat people right, hire hard workers who are truly invested in the vision and values of SM, & let's be sure to enjoy the big wins along the way. I'm sure many are to come.

    SourceMedia2019-07-28
  4. Nuttig (1)

    "Company preparing to launch to the next level"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in New York, NY
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij SourceMedia voor meer dan 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    SM has recently installed an entirely new C-suite and they have brought with them fresh new ideas and logical strategic initiatives- from identifying and honing the company's key competencies and the low-hanging fruit opportunities, to improving benefits and the workplace environment. The new CEO has only been here for a year but the culture has undergone a fairly dramatic shift and there is renewed energy in the... building due to increased/improved communication, clearer company mission, and a greater emphasis on the employees (generous and well-stocked food & beverage pantry, reinstating a small NON-discretionary 401k match, performance evaluations tied to compensation, social awareness committee (SM Cares) and social committee (SourceSocial). Can't forget one of the best views in all of Manhattan...

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    401k match is only 1%, but leadership seems to be aware this is an area of needed improvement.

    Advies aan management

    Keep up the good work in terms of clarifying the vision and frequent communication with staff. In this era of rapid change due to new strategic initiatives, be sure to consider what tactical steps will be necessary to see them through. At times, it feels that major decisions are being made without fully understanding their implications or how it will impact processes and others throughout the organization.

    SourceMedia2019-05-13
  5. Nuttig (10)

    "Great Professionals, Questionable Leadership, Cart before the Horse..."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij SourceMedia voor meer dan 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Work-Life Balance, Direct managers care about the team, Great Views, Brand reputations are strong, Potential for success on brand level remains.

    Minpunten

    Cart before the Horse seems to be the senior leaderships management style. Inter-Org Collaboration is labored instead of seamless. Lack of connection to the clients demands and what C-suite wants to do. Ability to deliver from C-suite never materializes.

    Advies aan management

    Stop pretending you're going to "turn it around". Stop managing to expectations of the board and give real feedback. Get in the weeds with your editorial, marketing, and sales staff and shut up and learn while there. Let them work while you learn about the business from the market level and use your leadership to capitalize on their intelligence and hard work.

    SourceMedia2019-03-16
  6. "A Good Place"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij SourceMedia

    Pluspunten

    Strong editors, good work environment

    Minpunten

    Long commute and long hours

    SourceMedia2018-11-10
  7. "Reporter"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij SourceMedia

    Pluspunten

    The people I worked with were great.

    Minpunten

    However, senior management did not quite have a sense of direction.

    SourceMedia2018-11-04
  8. "Heading in a great direction"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Marketer in New York, NY
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij SourceMedia

    Pluspunten

    Super smart team making great content that matters (Most powerful women in banking, rising stars, best places to work). Beloved brands in the industries we work in. Relaxed environment. New management with big ideas.

    Minpunten

    Some legacy points of view on the media business that need to change. Seems like most people are on board with the approach.

    Advies aan management

    Make the changes to needed to deliver on the strategy to engage customers, even at a cost to some revenue.

    SourceMedia2018-10-17
  9. Nuttig (9)

    "RUN!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij SourceMedia voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    I honestly can't say anything nice about this place.

    Minpunten

    Ineffective communication, low salary for non-management staff, no 401k match, no annual reviews or raises, no bonuses for sales support staff, high turnover, tone at the top is that the little people don't count.

    SourceMedia2018-11-16
  10. "Opportunity to learn"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Graphic Designer in New York, NY
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij SourceMedia voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    As a graphic designer, I learned a lot about the publishing industry. worked on fun projects. they also allowed me to learn and transition to web design which became useful once I was offered a new job,

    Minpunten

    Some long days with deadlines. Some people did not have good work ethics and wanted to be bossy.

    Advies aan management

    Pay a higher salary to people who work hard. Managers who look to think outside the box.

    SourceMedia2018-10-10
Er zijn 150 reviews gevonden