Reviews voor Volvo Car USA | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van Volvo Car USA

Bijgewerkt op okt 15, 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

3.6
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
68%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
91%
Waardeert directeur
Volvo Car USA CEO Anders Gustafsson
Anders Gustafsson
30 Beoordelingen
  1. "Good place"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Aanbevolen

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    cool, work life balance, benefits

    Minpunten

    changes, frequent changes, coping up with that

    Volvo Car USA2019-10-15
  2. "Keep Looking"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Supplier Quality Engineer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb korter dan een jaar als voltijd bij Volvo Car USA gewerkt

    Pluspunten

    Great pay, great insurance and great vacation/paid holidays

    Minpunten

    Well, they pulled me in with the pay and benefits and they are really good. You then have to ask what’s more important ~ making money or having a life? • No work life balance - unclear objectives • Poor leadership & vision • marketing strategy is all wrong (compete with middle class and dominate the market, don’t compete with BMW/MB/Audi ~ know where you stand) • very unhappy in the work environment,... outside of production there’s no consideration for “support roles”. It’s a give 200% of your life and Smile about it. Happy to have left, good experience ~ don’t make my same mistake, keep looking. You only live once

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Run the place as if we’re your own business.

    Volvo Car USA2019-10-11
  3. Nuttig (1)

    "Great potential executed poorly"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Team Member in Ridgeville, SC
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    The pay and progression is more than what I’ve seen for other companies. I like my supervisor. Corporate values. Non-Union in Charleston. Opportunity for growth. Paid leave for child birth. People are great when they aren’t exhausted. Medical on site. Site is secure. Smoking Areas. Free coffee. Team leads and some supervisors are supportive and will work with you.

    Minpunten

    Long hours make it difficult to pick my children up without being late. Numbers seem to matter more than employees. HR does little to mitigate conflict. Very militant environment (anything can get you in trouble, like having your cell phone in your pocket, or using your cell phone without being stationary, and it seems outside management won’t stay in their lane). Long hours are very common, working 50-58 hours per... week for months. Seniority does not seem to matter to HR, as temps can act completely rude and your work and progression is recognized very little. The points system is very unbalanced with the hours we work. No separate sick leave from PTO, and you are charged PTO if you have it and you call in sick or need to leave early unscheduled.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Remember what was sold to every employee, Volvo is supposed to be a people company. It is a numbers company in Charleston unless you work in the office. Every job has ups and downs, and the downs are outweighing the ups, and it shows from the retention rate. Work on keeping employees, not cycling them and replacing them.

    Volvo Car USA2019-09-14
  4. "Great environment"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Huidige werknemer - Senior Engineer 

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA

    Pluspunten

    Great team environment enforced by management

    Minpunten

    Very layed back. More than I like

    Volvo Car USA2019-06-11
  5. Nuttig (1)

    "Not what i expected, life changed and i got promises that the Americans could not provide"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Maintenance in Charleston, SC
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Long hours equal more money, that is a con too. Nice people, but they are getting angry daily Potential union, which i do not believe in but this location needs it. Clean locker rooms to shower in Smoking is not allowed everywhere Free coffee

    Minpunten

    Everything, no communication, little direction and we make vehicles for no one. I mean, i was fooled by the Swedish people when they said this will be a culture to stay. If you think about working here for anything other than the money, do not do it. Before you sign on, go look at the parking lot, 8,000 vehicles made, 6,000 in the parking lot that cannot be sold. Joke HR is not existent, no policies for a year... since i was hired. How many days can i miss, not sure i guess it is up to my supervisor. When i left there was still no policy book and we all just printed random information off the online site. Not sure if it is even real. What a joke.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Communicate Get real Do not be an idealist, be a realist Listen to your team Be approachable Listen Learn Be nice and treat people as they are not idiots. I know i work in a factory, no education, but do not treat me like i am sum. Seriously Present me a revision of a policy book Smile and pretend like your happy, cause we on the line are not and could use the motivation. Do not work me long hours for... cars that cannot be sold Do not lie to me at noon, saying i am working until 5:40, make accommodations for my children, then at 2:30 tell me we do not have parts an cannot make the cars that no one will buy. AGH get it togther. More to say, just very sad about changing my life for an empty promise.

    Meer weergeven
    Volvo Car USA2019-06-06
  6. "Great Organization"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Charleston, SC

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Work environment, pay, benefits cost

    Minpunten

    Long hours, work life balance

    Volvo Car USA2019-03-19
  7. Nuttig (4)

    "Sold a dream"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Manufacturing Technician in Ridgeville, SC
    Niet aanbevolen

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Volvo Car USA voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Employee car leasing program for employees

    Minpunten

    Poor Management, too much overtime, favoritism, can’t have an opinion of your own

    Advies aan management

    Take advice from the Swedish colleagues. It’s ran nothing like we were promised. While in pre hire training you are truly sold a dream that this company will be ran like the one on Sweden with mutual respect and a wonderful culture. Even the colleagues from Sweden that came over to help couldn’t believe the way the US colleagues were running the company. They would get frustrated quickly with the way things were... being ran. And give advice but management from the other car companies that were hired (to bring in the culture of where they came from) would not be open to listening. One upper management person said that the company will never be ran the way that we were told it would be run. So like the summary said we were sold a dream. We work ridiculous overtime for issues because upper management supply chain can’t keep the parts orders correct. The system for that is inaccurate and no one seems to care. It states we have parts that we don’t. And there have been times when no one could even find the parts that were actually at the factory. It’s just a cluster of problems with parts and upper management issues. And don’t let me forget the favoritism by management also. So much of that goes on there also. Don’t be a little bit outspoken about being treated unfairly or you’re doomed.

    Meer weergeven
    Volvo Car USA2019-04-13
  8. Nuttig (2)

    "Be careful what you look for"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Administrative 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA voor 8 jaar

    Pluspunten

    There are not any pros to working for this Company

    Minpunten

    High insurance and long hours. Need to be on call for superiors

    Advies aan management

    Listen to your employees

    Volvo Car USA2019-04-08
  9. Nuttig (3)

    "Worst Nightmare Realized"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Rockleigh, NJ
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Volvo Car USA

    Pluspunten

    Free cars at higher levels of the organization

    Minpunten

    Extremely disorganized leadership that treat people with little to no respect in the way that employees are spoken to and treated- you feel completely disposable and taken advantage of. The culture is very toxic and instead of leadership looking to adapt to the U.S. culture, it's about trying to recreate Swedish culture in the U.S., which leads to various initiatives and processes being rolled out that make zero... sense in a U.S. context and where we are just doing them for leadership's political agenda and to look like they are "globalizing" Volvo, but actually they are forcing a Swedish agenda without any regard for or desire to understand what could work best in this market. Often times leaders and expats that are brought over to the U.S. in senior positions are done so because there are no other jobs for them in Sweden, leaving the U.S. with very weak, incompetent and expensive Swedish leaders. This leaves very few senior-level positions available for local American employees to grow in or aspire to. Additionally they are constantly speaking in Swedish in the office, leaving Americans out of the conversation completely. This company used to feel like a family to me but has since become unrecognizable- beyond my worst imaginable nightmares.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Treat people with respect and try to understand the culture that you are a part of. Invest in your culture and people and make some bold leadership changes.

    Volvo Car USA2019-02-25
  10. Nuttig (7)

    "Came in with high hopes but turning for the worse"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in Ridgeville, SC
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Volvo Car USA voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Stepping stone to get experience on a resume.

    Minpunten

    Leadership is driving to failure. Becoming a toxic environment and managers blame everyone else for problems. Many unqualified managers/leaders.

    Advies aan management

    Listen and learn. Being a manager or director or VP doesn’t make you right. Take suggestions from your teams.

    Volvo Car USA2019-01-19
Er zijn 66 reviews gevonden