Reviews voor XO Group | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van XO Group

Bijgewerkt op 4 sep 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

Er zijn 273 reviews gevonden

3.7
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
66%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
94%
Waardeert directeur
XO Group CEO Mike Steib
Mike Steib
134 Beoordelingen
  1. "Great place to work!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Software Engineer(Internship) in Austin, TX
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij XO Group voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Lovely teams and people. You'll learn a lot and grow so much while there.

    Minpunten

    Can't think of any honestly. I loved working here

    XO Group2019-09-04
  2. "Not bad at all!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Marketing Associate 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij XO Group voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    - friendly work environment - interesting work - fun employee perks

    Minpunten

    - department closed... - working with all girls can get a little catty if you let it

    XO Group2019-07-10
  3. Nuttig (6)

    "Good for new engineers, but inflated titles and sub-average pay"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij XO Group voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    - Shouldn't be hard to pass interview because their tech is relatively simple. They aren't looking for elite engineers, just those smart enough to support the stack - Unlimited vacay (obviously depending on the generosity of your direct manager) - Office environment is pretty good - spacious, relatively clean, and free snacks (unfortunately, crappy no-name brands, runs out all the time) . - Engineers get a... lot of autonomy over their work, engineering management tends to defer to engineers to make the right decisions. (Engineering mgmt doesn't seem very tech savvy). - Management is willing to listen and really wants to retain engineers - Promotions come quick (see cons below) - Good place to start a career (not very hard to get in, promotions come quick, 1-2 years if you stick around) - Co-workers are generally very nice people. Not a lot of office politics (at least at non-mgmt level). I enjoyed going to work.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    - Below market pay rate. They compensate for this by promoting engineers rather quickly. I mean, there are folks there that are 2 years out of code camp that are seniors, and some that have 3 years of experience that are leads. I would say that a senior or lead at this company would only be a mid-level at a tier 1 company. The nefarious part of this bargain is that if you want to leave, you will be hard pressed to... find a company that will award you a similar position (unless you are truly good). I think the reason some people stick around for so long (despite the sub-average pay) is that they can't find a better job. - They hire a fair amount of fresh code school grads and middling engineers (see point above - elite engineers usually go for higher-paying companies). Result is that there is A LOT of tech debt (obv. depending on team - older teams have more). Don't think you will learn how to write good software from studying this code. Read books and study tutorials. Level up and leave. - Some teams are a complete mess in terms of code quality, poor product managers who don't know much about tech or how to manage a team, and many half-assers - those who are just there to make a paycheck and make little effort to actually excel at their job. - The above is part of why this company got acquired (merged into Wedding Wire) - they couldn't compete with the likes of ZOLA. Failure to execute effectively despite being incumbent leader. - And despite all of these shortcomings, at every quarterly hands on, execs would always put a positive spin on how we were doing - reminding everyone that The Knot is #1 wedding brand, that there are very few strong competitors, and that we were very close to reaching our growth goals. Well, if we were so strong, why did we sell out and go private? Go figure.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Cut the positive-spin b.s. Invest in top-tier engineers by increasing salary, fire crappy engineers. Requiring employees to use that crappy performance software is b.s. - it's all a game and everyone knows it. People change their goals all the time and most of the self-assessment is not very accurate.

    XO Group2019-04-06
  4. "Merger"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij XO Group

    Pluspunten

    Free snacks Modern office space Good location

    Minpunten

    Inexperienced c suite Merger layoffs Lack of private spaces

    XO Group2019-05-08
  5. "Software Engineer"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Front End Developer in Kanton, Kanton
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij XO Group voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Nice company culture, nice people. I learned a lot from this company for two years since I graduated. Thanks very much.

    Minpunten

    Shanghai is aways be the city where I want to work,so I have to leave this perfect company.

    XO Group2019-03-30
  6. "nothing positive to say."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij XO Group voor meer dan 8 jaar

    Pluspunten

    the company had great potential at one time

    Minpunten

    such a bad experience, i have nothing to add.

    XO Group2019-05-01
  7. Nuttig (1)

    "LEARN TO VALUE YOUR EMPLOYEES"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij XO Group voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Office snacks, great people, now "WFH days"

    Minpunten

    There are wayyyy too many egos and incompetent people in middle management. You can take on as much work as you want but you will never get rewarded for it. You will never get promoted no matter how hard you work, and they won't even try to counter you when you eventually leave (which, like everyone else, you will). The pay is the worst I've ever seen in any industry (and I've worked in several). Essentially: You'll... work hard, make no money and never grow.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Value your employees and pay them what they're worth, or you will KEEP LOSING TALENT and have to train people over and over again. Good companies offer competitive salaries.

    XO Group2019-04-05
  8. Nuttig (6)

    "XO doesn't exist anymore. The Knot worldwide is a downgrade"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in New York, NY
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht

    Ik werk voltijd bij XO Group

    Pluspunten

    Nice snacks, generally nice people

    Minpunten

    I have been here a few years. XO was acquired by a venture capital firm and combined with WeddingWire. It wasn't an integration like they claim it was a takeover. Wedding Wire is less transparent, more hierarchical and not particularly innovative. They've taken away any of the positives from XO, and lets be honest there were not a lot in the first place. For your career you probably don't want to work in... a former XO office as they're clearly hiring biased to fill in DC which is where Weddingwire is located.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Recognize that you came in and took over another company, we can't be one happy family without some effort and all you've shown is a preference for the other company.

    XO Group2019-03-26
  9. "Nice place to work"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Coordinator in Omaha, NE
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij XO Group voor 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    The company culture is great. There are great benefits. People are nice

    Minpunten

    Management should value their employees more. Not a lot of room for growth

    Advies aan management

    Value your employees

    XO Group2019-03-18
  10. "Some kinks but overall good"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij XO Group voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Depending on the team there were opportunities to grow in the role and within the company.

    Minpunten

    Somewhat of a divide between cross-functional teams that prevented quality work from being done.

    XO Group2019-02-28
Er zijn 273 reviews gevonden