Reviews voor Altia Central | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van Altia Central

Bijgewerkt op 14 okt 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

3.4
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
71%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
  1. "English teacher"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - ALT in Nagoya, Aichi (prefectuur)

    Ik werk voltijd bij Altia Central voor 10 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Good stable position. Interesting culture. Great food.

    Minpunten

    No room for advancement. Average pay.

    Altia Central2019-10-15
  2. Nuttig (1)

    "poor management"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Assistant Language Teacher 

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Altia Central voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    pays on time. You might have good schools to work at.

    Minpunten

    misleading salary and work hours. some of the supervisors are more of a hinderance than a help.

    Altia Central2019-06-16
  3. Nuttig (2)

    "Sets the Bar for the ALT Dispatch Industry"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    Voormalige werknemer - Assistant Language Teacher 
    Aanbevolen

    Ik heb korter dan een jaar als voltijd bij Altia Central gewerkt

    Pluspunten

    Supervisors are always available by phone and email, and (to my surprise) they are genuinely kind and helpful people. They know what they're doing, and they do their best to be understanding and accommodating. I really appreciated my supervisor(s), and I hope they get to hear from time to time that they're doing a great job. They give you loads of resources and materials. They deal with any issues in your school.... They pay fully and on time. In my opinion, this company is the absolute best in the field of ALT work, aside from getting a contract directly through the BOE.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    Initial training and periodic training events throughout the year are the biggest waste of time imaginable. Unless you are fresh out of school with no work experience, they are beyond useless and made me want to set the building on fire. I felt like I was in kindergarten, and it was really difficult to keep a positive attitude when we were being forced to waste a perfectly good day on such ridiculousness. The... monthly meeting were about the same, but it was nice to get to actually see the other ALTs in the area. ALTs outside of Aichi/Gifu seem like they might not have it as good (headquarters are in Nagoya). I overheard one of the supervisors from another prefecture talking to an ALT and was appalled by how rude and demanding they were being. After speaking to the ALT, it seemed like they had far less support and structure (as well as a long and nasty commute). Pay isn't great. That's the norm for ALT dispatch companies, but that doesn't make it right.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Your ALTs are adults. Please treat them like adults. Respect and understanding should be universal. If you want to set yourself apart from other dispatch companies, you have to work for it.

    Altia Central2019-05-03
  4. Nuttig (1)

    "It's okay"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - ALT 
    Niet aanbevolen

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Altia Central voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    good benefits and time off

    Minpunten

    You find out about things way too late. Some of the staff is rude. not enough pay for everything you have to do.

    Altia Central2019-05-17
  5. "Solid Company"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - ALT in Gifu-shi
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Altia Central voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Great for first timers in Japan

    Minpunten

    Limited upward mobility within company

    Altia Central2019-04-11
  6. "Great people!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Assistant Language Teacher in Gifu-shi
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht

    Ik heb korter dan een jaar als voltijd bij Altia Central gewerkt

    Pluspunten

    A supportive network of people.

    Minpunten

    The apartments are not great.

    Advies aan management

    Many teachers do not use ALTs to their full potential like we are trained for.

    Altia Central2019-03-06
  7. Nuttig (6)

    "Meh"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - ALT 
    Negatief vooruitzicht

    Ik werk voltijd bij Altia Central voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Long breaks, subsidized health insurance (most contracts), company housing if needed, materials supplied, transporation reimbursed, support in schools if trouble arises. In essence, they are supportive when it comes to school needs, but you’re on your own outside of work.

    Minpunten

    The company is going through changes and getting bigger, and it’s not for the better. Many people left or are leaving because of this. Unfortunately, Altia is becoming more like its competitors to keep costs down. Altia boasts it offers paid breaks, health insurance, etc., but more and more contracts are purposely cutting hours to avoid paying health insurance (technically illegal) and more contracts are... receiving salary prorations. I feel like your supervisor also depends on how good of an experience you have with Altia. Some of the supervisor are very nice and helpful. But some are very corporate, don’t care about their employees, and will snub you if you need help. You often have to fight to get what you need/want. It’s ridiculous. Altia is not as supportive as it claims either. If they arrange housing for you, they will not help with any moving costs if you decide to transfer or move. A lot of the housing is not conveinently located. They also leave you on your own to open a bank and get a cell phone. You only get 5 days of annual paid leave. If you get very sick and need more, they don’t pay you. Also, good luck using those 5 days for anything outside of being sick. At the end of the day, they’re just trying to keep the Board of Education happy. Your needs don’t really matter.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Your employees are the backbone of your company. You at one point used to care about the happiness of your employees. Since then, the quality has declined. Start supporting your employees again.

    Altia Central2019-02-15
  8. "Best of the bunch"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
     
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht

    Ik heb gewerkt bij Altia Central voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Great ethos as a company

    Minpunten

    No future Pot luck of placements

    Altia Central2019-01-21
  9. "ALT"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij Altia Central

    Pluspunten

    Great support from manager. Company helped whenever it was needed or asked for.

    Minpunten

    Not a good fit for those who require lots of attention from immediate supervisor.

    Altia Central2018-11-28
  10. Nuttig (2)

    "Good way to teach in Japan for a year or so, not a lifetime career option"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij Altia Central

    Pluspunten

    Lots of support Great supervisor Good teaching materials Paid summers Taxes/insurance taken care of They give you a car (if you need one)

    Minpunten

    Very few opportunities for advancement (like most teaching jobs in Japan) Salary is good for ALT work and fine for a single person, it would be difficult to support a family with it though.

    Advies aan management

    I think management does the best they can... there are a lot of cultural differences between foreign teachers and Japanese schools and I think management bridges that gap well.

    Altia Central2018-08-25
Er zijn 44 reviews gevonden