Reviews voor Close | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van Close

Bijgewerkt op 7 jun 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

4.8
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
94%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
89%
Waardeert directeur
Close CEO Steli Efti (no image)
Steli Efti
10 Beoordelingen
  1. Nuttig (11)

    "Legit employee review: It's better than I could have anticipated!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Customer Success Executive in Olathe, KS
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    Working at Close has been a blast! When I applied to work there, I read all the Glassdoor reviews and to be honest, was kinda like, "Sure, yeah, whatever - this is probably the typical 'Glassdoor window dressing' stuff." So while I was excited about accepting an offer to work with their team, I was also a bit skeptical that my perception of great people doing great work would be quickly disappointed, so I... lowered my expectations preparing to be mildly disappointed. Amazingly, I haven't been disappointed at all - actually, surprised by how legitimately kind, humble, and thoughtful the team is to work alongside daily. We joke, we laugh, we work hard - and working with people who care about their customers and the results (and how they achieve those results!) is a total breathe of fresh air. After starting here, I was given a copy of the book "Rework" written by Jason Friedman and DHH from Basecamp as a, "Hey, read this - it explains a lot of how we think about what we do." I was already a huge fan of how Basecamp operates, so I was immediately impressed. As the months continued, I've had more experiences that show the company lives up to the hype. For example, one evening my manager basically (kindly) scolded me for NOT having my "Do Not Disturb" enabled on Slack so I can unplug from my work when I'm not at my desk. Who does that stuff these days??? So awesome. There's a prevailing sense of confident-humility that's quick to own up to poor decisions, acknowledges real skill and ability, praises good choices, and defaults toward action and getting stuff done. Close has some many people scattered around the world from different cultures, backgrounds, and ethnicities - and I feel like I'm continually learning from their life experiences and perspectives as well.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    It's not for everyone. If amid uncertainty, you don't naturally default toward action (e.g., "I'm not sure, but I can figure it out..."), you likely won't be a fit at Close. In that same vein, you likely won't be a fit if you're intimidated to ask questions - even seemingly silly ones. As a culture, we question ourselves, our peers, our processes, and choices from last week, month, or year. So if you're not... comfortable reconsidering what seemed best yesterday - or asking questions about it, you likely won't be a fit. The team works hard but has strong expectations that you unplug, step away, and recharge - and if you can't manage yourself (both by showing up and also showing yourself out), you likely won't be a fit here. Additionally, a common denominator here is the ability to admit when you're wrong - but also a strength in being able to stand behind your decisions. In other words, owning your work, outcomes, and choices. No one acts defeated or like a whipped puppy. The culture is warm, forgiving, and supportive - but if you're more about defending your actions (defensive) than owning the results (humble strength), you'll likely struggle with the open and honest culture.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Keep it up. Keep owning your successes, transparently owning your failures, and pushing the team to grow - it's working and it's a pleasure to be a part of! :)

    Close2019-03-26
  2. "I have a voice in the company"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    I love the transparency across departments, the company consciously makes an effort to keep me happy, great work/life balance and I feel like I have a voice in the company. The team is GREAT - everyone's a master at their respective crafts.

    Minpunten

    Nothing at all. One of the best remote work cultures I've experienced.

    Advies aan management

    You've done a terrific job with the company culture. Let's aim to preserve that as the team grows. <3

    Close2019-03-01
  3. Nuttig (18)

    "Very disappointed in the company..."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    remote work, no commuting to work, pay is OK

    Minpunten

    fake people, too laid back, lack of leadership, favoritism, lack of diversity in the company

    Advies aan management

    Maybe look at the "yes" men and women that work for you...Also, why does your company only seem to hire only people of the same race, creed, age, orientation? Shouldn't we be embracing diversity? If you feel I am not telling the truth, look at our company picture. One would think that being a startup and remote that we would be more inclusive of people of color and marginalized groups. I definitely thought that with... a CEO like Steli we would have gotten that but I guess that would fall on the people that he put in charge of that aspect of recruiting and hiring. Very sad.

    Meer weergeven
    Close2018-12-23
  4. Nuttig (20)

    "Went from contract to full-time (remote) and love it"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Content Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    I can't stress enough how much emphasis is placed on deliverables over "number of hours worked" in a given week. Managers and the CEO work extremely hard with individual contributors to agree on realistic projects, deadlines, deliverables and to empower employees to go out and do what they're hired to do. There's very little oversight from managers on a daily basis, as they fully trust people to go out and execute... on the tasks that are mutually agreed upon. Another major plus has been how few meetings the company has in general.. it varies a bit based on team/role, but there's never a useless meeting to talk just for the sake of "talking" about a project, campaign or goal. We have great weekly team meetings over Zoom and then split off into groups of 3 for more personal, fun conversations with each other, and then it's off to the races. The twice yearly, week-long team retreats are also some of the most fun I've ever had with a company work trip.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    Right now I'm six months into my role full-time after being a contractor for the previous year, and there have been pretty much zero cons. Everyone (and everything) has been exactly as represented during the interview process and whenever there's a little thing I'm frustrated about or want to change in my workflow, the minute I express that to my manager, we have a very open dialogue about how to solve it and get to... a place where everyone's happy and the ship keeps moving in the right direction.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Can I give 6 stars for work-life balance? You've completely destroyed my ability to go back to a non-remote job ever again.

    Close2018-05-29
  5. Nuttig (5)

    "No B.S."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    A company full of people who want to be here. Everyone does what needs to be done, not what they can get away with. Good communication, no b.s., supportive teammates, and lots of appetite for getting stuff done. The company retreats are excellent—work focused, social, but realistic about the fact that it's a company and everyone is there for a reason. Because the team is spread across timezones typically, everyone... is comfortable with asynchronous communication, and does a good job with written requests and documentation.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    Remote work isn't for everyone. There is a good team culture, but it's a different daily experience than being in an office.

    Close2018-06-14
  6. Nuttig (2)

    "Work with a small team of insanely productive rockstars from all over the world"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Customer Success Manager 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    When first joining the Close.io - I was a bit concerned that "remote" would really translate into "out of the loop." Having worked at companies with an HQ and remote teams, this was the norm. However, once I started, I was blown away at how wrong I was. A lot of that comes from the fact that everyone is remote, not just you, so there's a common understanding of what everyone needs from each other. Also, we hire from... all across the globe, so you'll be working with some of the most interesting people you can find. Everyone believes in what we're set out to help people accomplish, and in a customer facing role, you get to see that impact every day.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    This is not a con for me, but I wouldn't recommend this job if you're not a self-starter. People will probably say that about any job, but it's especially true when you're working at a small remote company that produces like teams 2-3x it's size. There's little time for oversight and direction, so you're given a high level of autonomy and expected to run with it. If that doesn't sound appealing, then this might not... be the company for you.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Easily the best management team I've ever worked with, so not much in terms of things to change. If anything, the advice is to do everything you can to maintain this level of culture as the company grows. I have faith we can do that.

    Close2018-06-14
  7. Nuttig (4)

    "Amazing team + fantastic remote culture + challenging, fast-paced work = <3"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Customer Success Manager 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    As one of the newer employees, working at Close.io has been a very unique and positive experience. By unique, I mean that it's not everyday that you find a job that you love, with a team that you look forward to spending time with, at a company that prioritizes continuous truth-seeking, trusting your team, and embracing the ridiculous. By positive, I do not mean that it's not challenging or hard work, but it's the... type of hard work that you look forward to waking up in the morning and diving into. The entire team practices what they preach and the culture of the company is very accurately presented during the hiring process.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    If you are new to remote work, I would just encourage you to honestly think about what it would take for you to be successful in a 100% remote work environment. Remote work is a positive in my mind, but it can be challenging as well.

    Close2018-06-05
  8. Nuttig (3)

    "I can't imagine working anywhere else."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close

    Pluspunten

    Close.io is an amazing place to work. While there are tons of things I could mention, the biggest two reasons I love working for Close.io are the people I work with, and the fact that my opinion matters. The people I work with push me to better myself on a daily basis, and I couldn't ask for anything more. In addition, it's refreshing to be in a position where my opinions are taking seriously, and actually drive... product development.

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    The main downside I see is that, when dealing with remote life, it can be difficult to not fall into bad habits. It's important to make sure you get outside and remain active.

    Advies aan management

    Continue to be transparent, and hear the voices of your employees no matter how far we grow :). It's what sets us apart.

    Close2018-05-29
  9. Nuttig (2)

    "Remote work culture done right"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Software Engineer in Praag
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Strong personalities. High-level multidisciplinary skillsets. Implicit trust. Enjoying live. Fundamental aspects of truly working remote culture, which are brought to yet another level right here, right now. Don't miss out.

    Minpunten

    In remote work you need to step up your game, have strong discipline and be self-motivated to do your best. But that's hardly a con.

    Advies aan management

    Keep up the incredible level of transparency and trust within the team.

    Close2018-05-30
  10. Nuttig (6)

    "Happiest 5 years of my professional life"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Software Engineer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht

    Ik werk voltijd bij Close voor 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    I've been with the company for over 5 years and I'm still not looking for anything else! The product is very fun to work on and I'm often inspired by the amount of positive feedback we're receiving from our customers. However, the main "pro" for me is definitely the team. The leadership is by far the most competent and thoughtful from all the companies I've worked at. You can be sure that the person responsible for... you a) knows your job very well, b) has high standards, c) cares about you. You can also be sure you'll be given a lot of trust and responsibility. This might be less apparent in the first month of so of your employment, but then picks up very quickly. Expect the product, the team, and your responsibilities to grow at a pace that's just at the edge of your comfort zone, which makes for an ever-challenging and very educational environment. I'm also very grateful for the fact that I can work from anywhere in the world. It takes discipline, but when done well, significantly expands your freedom. Lastly, team retreats are a blast!

    Meer weergeven

    Minpunten

    Remote work might be a bit tough in the beginning if you're not used to it. I had to grow a lot of discipline around personal habits and communication in the early years. But, as I said above, once that's done, it's great.

    Close2018-02-12
Er zijn 19 reviews gevonden