Reviews voor Off the Grid | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van Off the Grid

Bijgewerkt op 3 aug 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

3.0
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
49%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
52%
Waardeert directeur
Off the Grid CEO Matthew Cohen
Matthew Cohen
9 Beoordelingen
  1. "Love food. Love Community. That’s why I stay."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Line Cook in San Bruno, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Off the Grid voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Off the Grid let’s you be yourself. You can do really cool things and contribute to a rapidly growing company. You have the opportunity to know the owner Matt and can talk to other leaders. Awesome delicious food. Like the people I work with. I like the open communication and Thursday morning all hands call.

    Minpunten

    Sometimes there’s to many changes or what feels like chaos. I think it’s growing pains. Technology is difficult.

    Advies aan management

    Keep talking and listening to us. Keep growing.

    Off the Grid2019-08-04

    Reactie van Off the Grid

    August 5, 2019CEO

    Thank you very much for the positive feedback about your experience at OTG! Our weekly all hands call is just a part us living our values of transparency and community, and I appreciate you calling them out. We're working hard to continue improving communication around our shared goals, so please do keep us posted through our engagement surveys and town hall meetings if we're going in the right direction.

    Minder weergeven
  2. "Free Food, Easy work"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Market Host in San Francisco, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als deeltijd bij Off the Grid

    Pluspunten

    You receive free food from the vendors Certain Markets are also rather slow so the work load is right

    Minpunten

    Supervisors aren't always helpful when needed at larger markets, no training, and they also don't give you many hours. They also mess up on the schedule quite often

    Off the Grid2019-08-02

    Reactie van Off the Grid

    August 5, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at OTG. I appreciate that you enjoy the experience of working outside at our markets, and I’d love for OTG to be able to do a better job of supporting you through improved training and better communication around scheduling. Should you have an interest in talking further about how we can be better together, please don’t hesitate to send me an email to matt@offthegrid.com. In the meantime, I appreciate your feedback and look forward to working with your team to continue improving your experience.

    Minder weergeven
  3. "Growing company in transition"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Head of Employee Experience in San Francisco, CA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij Off the Grid

    Pluspunten

    Very exciting time to work in a company that is taking things to the next level. There is ton of opportunity to grow and try new roles and responsibilities. The people are down to earth and just want to do good work. The product is dynamic and fun... who doesn't like food! The leadership team is filling out and the future direction of the company is inspiring.

    Minpunten

    The company is in transition - there has been a lot of turnover of "old guard" employees that has made for a lot of churn and confusion. There was a recent merge of two companies owned by the same owner (The Whole Cart and Off The Grid), which also created confusion around company culture and strategy. Both culture and strategy are actively being worked on right now, with investment in resources and priority to... ensure that growth is responsive to what has been learned from what wasn't working before. If you are looking to come into a well-scoped situation, this might not be the company for you at this moment. But if you are looking to join an organization that is growing, evolving, and have the ability to influence the future direction, Off The Grid is a great option.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Keep in mind that change takes time, but trust is where to start - build trust with the employees that are committed to the future of the organization.

    Off the Grid2019-07-06
  4. Nuttig (3)

    "Good benefits and weekends off"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Management in Hayward, CA
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij Off the Grid voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Weekends off and you if you go to google you get access to the cafeterias and game room.

    Minpunten

    Management is very loose. Things change a lot and management likes to hide from employees. Management is rarely onsite with the food trucks so employees tend to just go home after there shift even if they need to speak with management. Also, they will fire you for anything once they have the idea you need to be fired. I've seen it done at least 4 times since I've been there. If your a good employee you can break the... rules with no issue but again once you've been marked as a bad employee they will fire you for anything they can. If your management your job is secure, the food truck workers will be replaced the minute you aren't helpful or if you complain too much you will be terminated. I've seen management abuse there company cards and bend the rules when it helps them. Awful work culture its workers vs management.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Treat the line cooks and TS with respect and stop talking about them behind there backs. I've been in countless meetings where they berate other employees. Management is clearly the issues with this company and I truly lost so much respect for myself and the whole management team at the whole cart.

    Off the Grid2019-06-10

    Reactie van Off the Grid

    August 5, 2019CEO

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience working at Off the Grid. I’m sorry that we didn’t do a better job of caring for you as an employee while you were with the company. While you mention the benefits of the working hours with our culinary program, the fact that you describe management as being unavailable is deeply troubling to me. While we’ve recently hired many strong managers to help address gaps in accountability like the ones you describe, we also understand that we’re rapidly growing and we’ll need to keep improving. As a result, we want to give each employee the opportunity to communicate concerns they see regularly to our Employee Experience team and Executive leadership. This is the reason why we’ve initiated quarterly town halls and engagement surveys to quickly tackle emerging problems and report progress directly to employees. Thank you for the 3 years you spent at OTG caring for our guests and communities by making delicious food. I’d be happy to continue the conversation and learn more about your experience if you email me at matt@offthegrid.com.

    Minder weergeven
  5. Nuttig (3)

    "You Need To Wonder"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer in San Francisco, CA
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik voltijd gewerkt bij Off the Grid voor meer dan 1 jaar

    Pluspunten

    There are a few good people that have no idea what they are doing.

    Minpunten

    Everyone else. This place of employment is a car wreck. Below are things I either heard or saw while employed there: 1. That's not my job. 2. "Yeah, we are glad _________ quit they didn't know what they were doing." 3. "We charge them extra, cause we can." 4. "There is no direction for my position." 5. "Now you can see just how unorganized we are." 6. "he sucks at his job." These are just a small... fraction of what I heard and or saw while working for these people. Morale is very very low. Read the other reviews and you will see what most people are saying. Every other week someone was quitting. I didn't meet a person who took ownership in the office. A lot of people want to pass the buck. The blame and pointing game is a real thing. I had no support from anyone in my position and it seemed that my manager was changing our quitting once every couple of months. There is no reason to make friends here, they will be gone tomorrow. The benefits are terrible and the commuter reimbursement program doesn't exist. These guys are making all their money because they work with a tech company. Good luck to any future employee here. If you are willing to take advice from a Glassdoor review, RUN RUN RUN.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Figure out what you are doing and how you make decisions. Never was there a time where any of us felt like you were doing either.

    Off the Grid2019-05-26

    Reactie van Off the Grid

    August 5, 2019CEO

    Off the Grid is all about building communities (including our own-- inside OTG), and the lack of mutual respect that you mention in your review is deeply troubling to me as CEO. I accept responsibility for your experience and very much want to assure you that the type of behavior you describe is absolutely unacceptable. I’d very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience. You can reach me directly and confidentiality at matt@offthegrid.com and I’d appreciate the opportunity to learn more in either a direct or anonymous fashion. I do also want to address one area of criticism from your review: that we’re a “car wreck” filled with people who “don’t know what we’re doing.” I am proud to say that OTG is filled with an incredible number of good, hard working, smart people who are working everyday to invent a new industry. Is that hard? Without question. Does that lead to disorganization and occasionally confusion? Yes, and we’re making strides to continue making improvements. But OTG is filled with good people who care about their community, our customers, and each other. I accept 100% responsibility for your experience as an OTGer, but I would never want anyone reading this review to come away with the impression that our team isn’t the absolute best in the world at what they do. They impress me every day and I’m proud to lead them. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to be able to engage offline in a meaningful way.

    Minder weergeven
  6. Nuttig (2)

    "Cool Company on the Brink"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 

    Ik werk voltijd bij Off the Grid voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    Free food. Coworkers are cool and the environment is your typical great start up environment where most people tend to be young for the most part and enthusiastic. The job is not that hard. A lot of examples of people moving up in the company.

    Minpunten

    There is a divide in the company between its different departments/divisions that are spread out around the different offices/warehouses around the bay, which definitely creates an us vs them mentality. Everyone blames everyone else and getting promoted does seem to transition into you becoming a new person to blame for things going wrong. The company is also in a weird transition phase and is trying to figure out a... new angle to work as the community markets it's become known for are not as profitable. A lot of being told there isn't money in the budget for things.

    Meer weergeven
    Off the Grid2019-01-29
  7. Nuttig (8)

    "Read the other reviews and consider what a job is worth to you"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Off the Grid

    Pluspunten

    -There are still some passionate individuals that are fun to work with -The day-to-day benefits of working for Google are pleasant -Exciting and engaged catering clients and public keep the brand alive -There is still quite a bit of room to define how you work -Exciting and talented vendors (creators) and guests love OTG

    Minpunten

    Culture: While working at Off The Grid has its ups and downs, it is generally an exercise is slowly losing your self-respect. Practically each week is punctuated by a window dressed company-wide goodbye email for someone who has either quit or been fired. You never know who’s going next, so it’s better not to form any true relationships or bonds of trust with your coworkers. For those that you do let your guard... down on, you are likely to get stabbed in the back or “thrown under the bus”. In terms of leadership, the company is controlled by a a small clique of individuals. Know that regardless of how seasoned or thoughtful you are in your work, the CEO will always make it known that he can do your job better, and will never miss an opportunity to either “derail” or “blindside” you and your peers at every turn. Additionally, know that there is a strong and distinct class divide within the company. Directors, Heads-Of, etc have very little idea of what working at OTG is like for the majority of its employees, and don’t attempt to try. Any attempt at discussing culture, values, or workplace experience from senior leadership is a response to issue-oriented problem solving rather than a true interest in actually making it a great place to work. Additionally, while senior leadership continues to talk about transparency in all-staff communications, what they are discussing is transparency, rather than actual transparency of information or inclusion. All of these points are long-term, structural issues that reside within the organization and not within any single event or period. Career Opportunities: Yes, there are many, many open positions. These positions are technically open for internal candidates, but in practice, they are not. Current employees are kept down by incremental, small raises and arbitrary title changes while external candidates are hired in under vastly higher positions. If you are doing well in your role, you might be recognized for it by your supervisor, but it will not result true career growth, because there are no real career opportunities at OTG. It is a job that everyone is working until they’re out. Work / Life Balance: You will face a never ending stream of chaos and unrealistic expectations that no single person would ever be able to achieve. Your only recourse is to try to say no, and either risk getting pushed out or feeling like a failure.

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    -Listen to your employees and hear what they are saying -Be inclusive -Invest in real growth opportunities and training for your staff at every level -Slow down and let people breathe. The turn and burn is back breaking. -Stop with the tech-industry buzzwords and trends -Holiday parties after the holidays are not cool

    Off the Grid2019-02-12

    Reactie van Off the Grid

    August 5, 2019CEO

    This is a humbling review to read and I appreciate the time that you took to share your experience as an OTGer. I accept responsibility for the message you’re conveying, and please know that many of these areas are things that OTG is continuing to work on. I think you bring up two important themes around area’s we’ve made important improvements around that I’d like to share: -Pace of Growth, Turnover and Growth Opportunities: We’ve been growing rapidly every year we’ve been in existence. And, as you mention, this has produced positive opportunities for defining how you work. It has also hindered us from building a truly effective platform to prepare our employees for their next role within the company. We recognize this, and we’re making strides to build a skills based culture that can empower people in roles to understand how they get to the next place in their careers (and how OTG can support them acquiring the skills to get there). -Leadership (my) failure to align priorities: I am very sorry that you felt you had your work derailed during your time at OTG (by me or anyone else). We’re working very hard to align priorities within the organization so that people know that they’re working on the most important things (from top to bottom in the organization) at any given time. One of the great things about OTG is that we’re a dynamic company that is quick to adapt. But we’re working very hard to explain why we’re making the decisions we are throughout the whole organization, and to give people the tools to execute in an aligned and meaningful way. Thank you for your efforts during your time with OTG, and I hope that you can still remain a part of the community in some way.

    Minder weergeven
  8. Nuttig (4)

    "Stay far, far away from OTG"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Off the Grid

    Pluspunten

    Everybody at the company is super lazy and leaves at 5pm on the dot

    Minpunten

    OTG is the cheapest, most poorly run company I have ever worked for. Here's why: -They're PTO sucks - you only start accruing PTO after 1 full year of working there -They only match 401k (not 100%) after 1 year of employment -No free food, even though it's a food company... -The office buildings are unsafe - there are too many wires everywhere and they are a fire hazard, and the office is in a building... which is not earthquake safe -The warehouse has so many workplace safety hazards to count and honestly should be audited -Lack of transparency from the so called "exec" team -Middle managers who talk to much and only stick around without doing any work because they know whose behind to kiss -Very shady, untrustworthy assistants who get promotions to "head of" but run around all cute and don't do their job properly -No parking passes, so you have to pay to park at work

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    Get rid of loud mouth people who talk too much and don't do anything

    Off the Grid2018-12-04

    Reactie van Off the Grid

    August 6, 2019CEO

    I’m sorry about your negative experience at OTG and I’d appreciate the opportunity to address these concerns directly with you if you’re still with the company. Please do contact me directly and confidentiality at matt@offthegrid.com. Alternatively, you can contact our Employee Experience team directly at ex@offthegrid.com. We’d appreciate the opportunity to work with you to make sure you can have a positive and safe working experience everyday you come to OTG. I would also like to take the opportunity here to highlight a few areas where action has been taken and improvements have been made from your review: 1. “Every is lazy because they don’t work in the office past 5pm.” One of the great things about OTG is our interest in supporting people who need to timeshift for family obligations. While that can’t happen for every employee (events need to start and stop on time), it's not a place where we have an expectation of you being in the office 24/7. Many of those who leave early have agreements with their managers around obligations and commutes that we attempt to work with. I am sorry that we failed to effectively communicate that reality to you, and you had a misperception as a result. We clearly can and will do a better job to more clearly articulate this reality in the future to other portions of the organization so that it doesn’t feel like a portion of the company isn’t doing their fair share. 2. “The office and warehouse environment is unsafe” We’ve recently updated our office interiors however Fort Mason Center is a historic federal park. As a result, it’s an amazing setting that will remind you how beautiful SF is every day. It’s also a landmark that was built in the 1950’s and while it’s certainly not unsafe, we are trying to make the best that we can in a location that we love where we host our signature weekly event. On balance we think it's worth the tradeoff and we’re continuing to invest in improving all of our spaces, not just Fort Mason Center. With regard to our warehouse, we take safety seriously and I’d ask you to get in touch with me directly so that I can better understand what you’ve observed so that I can address any concerns immediately. We did recently have a safety audit and there were no violations found. That said, we can always get better and we’re interested in hearing from you. 3. “That we have poor benefits and PTO doesn’t start for a year” For the record, you begin accruing PTO immediately when you begin working at OTG. We are proud of our benefits packages to which Off the Grid contributes 80% to our employees and 50% for their dependents for those in our medical plan, alongside of a 100% contribution for our employees for dental and vision coverage. All regular, Full-Time Employees are eligible to participate in Off the Grid’s 401(k) plans, effective the 1st of the month following their date of hire and our company match begins after 1 full year of service with OTG matching 50% of the first 6% deferred into the plan. If you are in the 401(K) plan, you are also 100% vested after you complete two full years of service. It disappoints me that we did a poor job sharing our total benefits plans with you as we are proud of being able to offer a robust benefits package to all full time associates, which more than 95% of our OTGers are. 4. Lack of Transparency from Middle Management We’ve heard the need loud and clear for us to do a better job around communicating alignment of shared goals, priorities and providing platforms for feedback. Since this review, we’ve instituted weekly all hands calls, started regular town hall meetings, quarterly engagement surveys, quarterly management meetings, and annual all staff meetings. All this to say, we’re serious around alignment, development and getting everyone on the same page. We hope that you’re starting to feel the impact already!

    Minder weergeven
  9. "Manager"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij Off the Grid

    Pluspunten

    Food, accessibility to senior level staff

    Minpunten

    Clique-y culture, some difficult personalities and big egos

    Off the Grid2018-10-18
  10. "Fast paced, growing company with an awesome team!"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrière­mogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij Off the Grid voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    What we do - food and events - is fun! Employees have the opportunity to work on cool, industry leading projects and innovate. Lots of growth and incoming opportunities with a respected brand. Despite being a "start-up", salaries and benefits are close to market for the Bay Area. Also a ton of growth opportunties internally.

    Minpunten

    Like most fast growing start-ups, things can move fast and change quickly. It can sometimes feel like we are doing too many things, making it hard to focus or understand how you fit in to the higher level strategy.

    Off the Grid2018-08-29
Er zijn 38 reviews gevonden