Reviews voor ArenaNet | Glassdoor.be

Reviews van ArenaNet

Bijgewerkt op 7 jun 2019

Als u wilt filteren op reviews, moet u zich of .

Er zijn 95 reviews gevonden

3.6
SterSterSterSterSter
BeoordelingstrendsBeoordelingstrends
62%
Aanbevelen bij een kennis
66%
Waardeert directeur
ArenaNet CEO Mike O'Brien
Mike O'Brien
65 Beoordelingen
  1. Nuttig (3)

    "Cliqueish promotion system"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - QA Tester in Bellevue, WA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij ArenaNet voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Inclusive, liberal workplace. Everyone is accepted and friendly.

    Minpunten

    Promotion is based on who you're friends with or who you're married to/dating rather then management being able to identify skills within personnel.

    Advies aan management

    Consider people that actually qualify instead of your buddies to promote.

    ArenaNet2019-06-07
  2. Nuttig (3)

    "Great Individual Contributors, Shaky Management"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Gameplay Programmer in Bellevue, WA
    Aanbevolen
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij ArenaNet voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Smart, creative, and driven individual contributors. Awesome company culture, emphasis on growth and diversity. History of great products that are customer driven.

    Minpunten

    Too much project thrashing. Key management do not seem to know what their goals are. Very little accountability, especially at the higher end of the totem poles.

    Advies aan management

    Make sure you understand what the goals of the company are and what can be done *now* to help reach those goals. A lot of time is spent on the future, when it's not even clear those roads will bear fruit. Always remember that the individual contributors are the heart of the company, so you should take time to get to know them and their skill-sets. Projects will have low velocity if the management does not understand...

    Meer weergeven
    ArenaNet2019-05-03
  3. Nuttig (3)

    "Was probably a good place to work about 10 years ago, but no more."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk al langer dan een jaar als voltijd bij ArenaNet

    Pluspunten

    - I love the culture at the studio. It's unfortunate it's been ruined by huge failures of leadership. - Free drinks and snacks. - Very casual workplace. Think people with blue hair, anime t-shirts, and lots of curse words in normal conversations. - Has a culture of not asking people to work long hours. - Fairly nice modern office.

    Minpunten

    - Low pay for the Seattle area. - Leadership which lies to your face. - Layoffs which I believe were caused by a lack of accountability of senior leadership. No senior leaders were laid off even though they made the decisions which necessitated the layoffs. Some voluntarily left just before the layoffs hit and of course they got a raise and promotion out of it at their next job. - Lots of failed projects and churn...

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    You really need to focus on keeping the people you have. Work on fostering trust (which is at an all time low right now). Empty promises aren't going to cut it any more.

    ArenaNet2019-04-21
  4. "Wonderful Culture"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Senior Cinematic Artist in Redmond, WA
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij ArenaNet voor meer dan 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Wonderful people & culture Life/work Balance Amazing talent Good compensation Fun events throught the year Great facility I had a lot of autonomy and ownership over my work. I also had great mentors which lead to a lot of growth. My team was wonderful and I will miss working with them.

    Minpunten

    While I'm aware of some complaints with upper management. In my personal experience, I don't have real cons to offer here. ArenaNet was the highlight of my career.

    Advies aan management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    ArenaNet2019-04-03
  5. "Working environment is great"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ArenaNet voor meer dan een jaar

    Pluspunten

    -Great place to work - people who work here are very nice and helpful

    Minpunten

    -communication could be better -pay could be better

    ArenaNet2018-12-21
  6. "Game Development without the Sacrifice"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Goedkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ArenaNet

    Pluspunten

    - This company is one of the most diverse, accepting places I have ever worked. Tons of women and minorities in prominent leadership positions. - Extremely friendly team. Everyone is here to help if you just ask. - A legitimately anti-crunch studio. Work life balance is a clear priority. - Great product with passionate fan base.

    Minpunten

    - Pay isn't great. - Company at the whim of NCSoft (parent company) at times.

    ArenaNet2018-11-05
  7. Nuttig (6)

    "Not a Good place to grow as an artist."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Huidige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik werk voltijd bij ArenaNet voor 5 jaar

    Pluspunten

    Hardly any crunch hours, you can take breaks.

    Minpunten

    Overall the place is too laid back, because of this culture most of the studio is stagnant. If you're an artist this will eventually catch up with you and you have no option but to work on personal work because of the lack of motivation to work on an archaic game most studios do not care about artistically. Only a certain few who speak up get advancement but the ceiling is so low. Certain folks are promoted to lead positions...

    Meer weergeven

    Advies aan management

    To many cooks in the kitchen. Promote the right people in key position. Wipe away most of the older leads, most are complacent and bring nothing new for the better of the company.

    ArenaNet2018-08-13
  8. Nuttig (3)

    "Good Devs, Bad Leadership"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Neutraal vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij ArenaNet voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    good benefits, great developers, strong positive team dynamics, passionate people, great career development opportunities, good middle management (team leads)

    Minpunten

    mediocre pay, egotistical upper management, conflicting messages on work/life balance

    Advies aan management

    stop driving away talent with bad pay and meaningless personal conflict. get better at making concrete decisions. take risks.

    ArenaNet2018-07-30
  9. Nuttig (4)

    "Once Great"

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Designer in Bellevue, WA
    Niet aanbevolen
    Negatief vooruitzicht
    Afkeurende mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijdgewerkt bij ArenaNet voor meer dan 3 jaar

    Pluspunten

    A lot of the people working on the ground level are great, supportive people.

    Minpunten

    There are major problems currently in middle management, making it an exceptionally stressful and demoralizing place to work.

    Advies aan management

    Managers of all levels need to get more involved with the development process, and offer actual direction, as opposed to ignoring projects until the last minute then coming in and asking for huge, sweeping changes to things that have been locked down for months.

    ArenaNet2018-07-01
  10. Nuttig (2)

    "Adequate place to start a career. Mediocre place to grow a more senior career."

    SterSterSterSterSter
    • Werk/privé-balans
    • Cultuur en waarden
    • Carrièremogelijkheden
    • Vergoeding en arbeidsvoorwaarden
    • Senior management
    Voormalige werknemer - Anonieme werknemer 
    Niet aanbevolen
    Positief vooruitzicht
    Geen mening over directeur

    Ik heb voltijd gewerkt bij ArenaNet

    Pluspunten

    Top-notch technologies/products. Great work-life balance (little/no crunch time.)

    Minpunten

    Little/no opportunities for career advancement for those with more than a few years experience. Retention problems because of that. Things move at a snails pace with lots of overhead. Support of diversity is uneven across the company. Very good in some areas. Utter failure in others. Compensation is low-to-average.

    Advies aan management

    Career growth of employees should be a review goal of managers. Trust in the experience of your more senior employees across roles, you're not using it.

    ArenaNet2018-05-31
Er zijn 95 reviews gevonden